Lets be honest, we use a lot of stuff throughout the course of a day.  Phones, computers, radios and so on. How much media do you think we consume in one day? A LOT! Trust me, because I spent the last two days recording all the different types of media i’m exposed to. The list was relatively long, no surprise there right?

  • My patterns in the morning are generally the same. Wake up, check my phone (1) turn on the tv (2) and check immediately use my laptop (3). Already, that’s three forms of media I’ve used. unavoidable if you ask me. Only been awake 5 minutes and media is already in my face.
  • Typically through a morning I use the same media over and over, my phone, tv (particularly NFL Network) and my laptop. I might check mail from time to time though (4), and while im in my car I just use my phone for music. The radio is DEAD!
  • The route I normally take to school has zero billboards. Maybe a few postsers (5) here and there but thats it. 5 kinds of media repeated about 100 hundred times, and I haven’t even stepped on campus yet.
  • Towson is a huge campus filled with many many things to do, and every building on campus has some type of media within it. Newspapers (6) in every buidling, all types of ads (7) in the library, televisions playing news or sports (8), and so on. Multiply the use of all these various medium by 100 and you’ve used media close to 1000 times in 1 day! See how impoirtant it is in our lives?

Most of my time was spent on my phone. Not really surprising, every person in my age range is also guilty of that im sure. My phone is always the first thing I check in the mornings, and the last thing I look at at night. Usually when i’m on my phone, its because im using my twitter app or my facebook app (ESPN app on Sundays so I can track of the games). This means that I have all the worlds information in the palm of my hands.

